The National: “Tropic Morning News” single review – the indie rock stalwarts come alive again…


Written by:

The moody and crafty chambers of The National, have announced the release of its ninth studio album, First Two Pages of Frankenstein, due April 28, 2023 via 4AD. Weird Goodbyes was the start of something beautiful.

Anchored by evocative melodies and an enthralling lyrical narrative, First Two Pages of Frankenstein signals a new chapter in the band’s beloved discography. Produced at the lavish Long Pond Studios in upstate New York – where Taylor Swift so happened to record Folklore – the 11-song album features guest appearances by Taylor Swift herself, Phoebe Bridgers and Sufjan Stevens. Evidently, Swift doesn’t leave the session rooms of the studio.

After two back-to-back albums and several busy years of touring – including Dessner’s involvement with Ben Howard’s successive fourth, Collections From The Whiteout – First Two Pages of Frankenstein was initially stalled while lead singer Matt Berninger navigated, “a very dark spot where I couldn’t come up with lyrics or melodies at all. Even though we’d always been anxious whenever we were working on a record, this was the first time it ever felt like maybe things really had come to an end.” But as ever, the band brought everything together and in what feels like a new era for the band. Exciting to say the least for their dedicated fan base, since their last 2019 album, I Am Easy To Find.

With the news of an album, it also comes along with the first taster session of the bands’ new invigorated sounds. Deceptively upbeat for its reprising role, Tropic Morning News brings together its kinetic rhythms and wavering textures as Dessner works closely alongside the London Contemporary Orchestra for a true lush sound; as it effortlessly darts and skates over moments of thrill.

“When Matt [Berninger] came in with that song in the depths of his depression, it felt like a turning point for us,” says Aaron Dessner. “It’s almost Dylan-esque in its lyrics and it’s so much fun to play; everything suddenly felt like it was coming alive again.

We shall be patiently waiting for the Brooklyn boys to release their ninth instalment and no doubt, following it up with a US/European tour for the Summer of 2023. *EDIT: With that said, they’ve just announced a world tour. Patti Smith and Her Band will be joining us for one special night in New York City at the iconic Madison Square Garden. Tickets go on sale Friday, January 27th at 10:00AM local time to the general public, except for Madison Square Garden which goes on sale Friday, January 27th at 12:00PM EST.”

For tickets and information:

1. Once Upon A Poolside (feat. Sufjan Stevens)
2. Eucalyptus
3. New Order T-Shirt
4. This Isn’t Helping (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
5. Tropic Morning News
6. Alien
7. The Alcott (feat. Taylor Swift)
8. Grease In Your Hair
9. Ice Machines
10. Your Mind Is Not Your Friend (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
11. Send For Me

3 responses to “The National: “Tropic Morning News” single review – the indie rock stalwarts come alive again…”

  1. EclecticMusicLover avatar

    My first time hearing this, and I love it. But then, I love Matt Berninger’s voice. And like him, I’m currently in a dark place where I’ve lost all enthusiasm or motivation to write.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. manvmusic avatar

      Yeah, I’m in love with their new stuff already, excited for April even more so! Ah I’m sorry to hear that Jeff! Hopefully you can bring yourself out the slump you’ve found yourself in and get back to doing what you love 💪💪x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. EclecticMusicLover avatar

        Thanks Alex. I hope so too, but truth be told, I’m just tired of writing.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Latest Stories

%d bloggers like this: